Gift of the Givers Commences Water Distributions in Free State

Gift of the Givers teams have commenced water distribution in the Free State working in conjunction with disaster management.  We have opted to work in areas where no water has been distributed to date.  This is the Xhariep District and includes Smithfield, Reddersburg, Edenbridge, Thompsburg, Jaggersfontein, Fauresmith and a number of smaller localities within these districts.  Schools, hospitals, frail care centers and local communities are the recipients.

Gift of the Givers will have six of its trucks and two water tankers in Bloemfontein tomorrow.  The contents include 22 x 5000L and 10 x 1000L Jojo tanks, 15000 x 20L water containers, 130 000L bottled water, three tons soup, biscuits, diapers, wet wipes, sweets, juice, stationery and school uniforms.  Additional supplies will follow.

The primary response is provision of water via tankers and through boreholes. A contract has been given to sink two new boreholes at a cost of R125 000 each.  Drilling commences tomorrow.  The establishment of more boreholes is being considered.  Water will be pumped from the borehole into the tanker, from here into the Jojo tanks and into the buckets.  We are trying to secure more water tankers.

A special thanks to Massmart for four Jojo tanks and 125000L of water, WBHO Construction for the two tankers and eight Jojo tanks, the Sai Group for 15000 water containers, Vodacom for a cash contribution of R300 000 (to be followed in addition by bottled water) and to all donors for their generous contributions.

Further contributions are most welcome as the need is simply overwhelming.  Cash donations into Gift of the Givers, Standard Bank, Pietermaritzburg, Account Number 052137228, Branch Code 057525, reference Drought.  Please email or fax deposit slip with full contact details for acknowledgement purposes.  For tax benefit certificates email  Details toll free 0800786911, Allauddin 0836677179 or Salim 0836512006.  Emily 0836520315 and Ali 0609638872 are on site in the drought districts.