Latest Activity


Fire Victims Mandela Day Support

July 20, 2017 Mandela Day 2017
The community of Mkholombe in Port Shepstone was struck by misfortune where 60 families lost their homes after a blazing fire swept through their informal settlement. The community of Mkholombe in Port Shepstone was…

Mandela Day Aid for Orphans

July 20, 2017 Mandela Day 2017
Mandela Day distribution at the Jabulani Kakibos Orphanage in JHB. Gift of the Givers and The Star Newspaper, IOL News, hand over 100 blankets and food parcels.

Disabled in Somalia Receive Mandela Day Aid

July 20, 2017 Mandela Day 2017
Gift of the Givers distributes Food Parcels, Blankets and Jackets to 400 disabled families in Mogadishu, Somalia.

Projects - Primary Health Care Clinics

"If the people cannot get to health services then the health services must get to the people"

This was the philosophy behind the innovation of the world's first containerised primary health care unit by Gift of the Givers Foundation in 1994. Cost effective, all weather proof, low maintenance, easily transportable, rapidly deployed, aesthetically acceptable and conveniently accessible. This was the rationale behind this practically relevant innovation which led to efficient utilisation by rural masses in South Africa.

Deploying the prototype in PARTNERSHIP with the South African Government in May 1995, in Kwa Pata, Edendale, Pietermaritzburg (KwaZulu Natal), 20 such units were deployed in a 10 year period in various parts of South Africa, collectively averaging 500 000 patients per year. Services include minor ailments, immunisations, wound treatments, burn care, screening for hypertension and diabetes, pap smears, antenatal care, counselling services, specialist psychiatric care for the elderly, TB patient follow up and a range of primary care services.

Other units include Alexandra, Tembisa (3), Atteridgeville, Kagiso, Eikenhof, Koolfontein, Ratanda, Rietvallei, Tarlton, Zenzele and Badirile (Gauteng); Botshabelo (Free State); Emfundweni (KwaZulu Natal); Riemvasmaak, Holpan and Barkly West(2) (Northern Cape).

  • pic1
  • pic2

Disaster Response